Total Hours for Week 6:  8

When Coach Ison got back into the office from being out of town for the fourth of July, we met and discussed the upcoming camps and what drills he wanted to do during the camps.  Coach Ison also wanted me to go over stretches and the benefits of the band workouts with the athletes. 

All the athletes were instructed to do weight training three days a week and speed training and flexibility training two days a week.  Coach Ison wanted to make sure the athletes were doing their stretches and ensure that they were warming up and cooling down for their workouts.  The band exercises needed to be completed slowing ensuring the exercise was controlled and not rushed through.  The band exercises can be used for stretching and also for shoulder exercises.  I did my usual cleaning of the weight room on Friday.

Thinking about how it feels to be in a new place, I can tell that the athletes know that I am in the process of learning more and more about strength and conditioning.  I had a general understanding of the exercises and concepts of a strength and conditioning program since I played in college and have been working in college football since 2007 but the role that I have as the strength and conditioning coach’s intern is totally different than what I have experienced before.  Compared to how the athletes respond to me when I am working with them as a defensive coach, how they respond to me while I am in the role as the strength intern is different.  The athletes like to joke around with me about being Coach Ison’s intern.  I am learning new skills and am trying to develop my skills as a strength and conditioning coach so I am not always as confident with my abilities as a strength coach and I know the athletes can see that.  They joke with me but I know that they still respect me because I show them respect and joke with them too.  It’s a give and take and the rapport I have built with most of them over the time that I have been at Tiffin has helped build their respect for me as a coach in general.  It feels good to learn new skills and I think the best way to do that is when you are able to use the skills in a real-life setting.



Leave a Reply.