Total Hours for Week 13:  8

This week was the week of our first game.  Since the athletes started classes this week and had different class schedules, the athletes had to come in to the weight room twice a week but the days differed for each athlete.  I had to make sure the weight room was ready each day and that the bands were available for the band workouts.  Coach Ison wanted me to be available for the athletes, to make sure they were doing the exercises correctly.  He checked on my mentorship hours and let me know his expectations for during the season.

I assisted Coach Ison with the conditioning workout on Monday and with the stretching and warm-ups through the week.  Coach Ison gave me the weight training workout and I would type it and make copies for the athletes for the week.  On Friday, I would clean the weight room and put the bands up for the next week.  On Saturday, I helped Coach Ison run the warm-ups and stretches before the game and do the stretches after the game.  We played McKendree University this Saturday and won. 

I experienced a success through my mentorship this week.  After the win on Saturday, I have several athletes come up to me and tell me that the hard work in camp and over the summer helped them during the game.  I told the athletes that it was their hard work that allowed them to be successful on the field and that they should keep working as hard as they did in camp throughout the season.  The players were able to have the endurance to play hard through the entire game which helped them win the game.  It felt good to be able to help the athletes in the weight room and camp to get stronger and have more endurance.



Leave a Reply.