Total Hours for Week 11:  7

This week was the first full week of camp.  On Monday, I helped Coach Ison with the warm-ups, stretching, and conditioning workout.  The athletes were going to be in the weight room on Tuesdays and Thursdays during camp.  On those days, I would set up anything that needed to be set up in the weight room and make sure that there were enough bands for athletes to do their band workouts.  We spotted the athletes during their workouts and showed them the proper technique if they needed instruction.  After each workout, I would make sure the weights were put back on their racks.

I would help Coach Ison with the warm-ups, stretches, and drills during the days we were on the practice field.  I would also help him when we did the stretches and band workouts to make sure the athletes were doing the exercises correctly.

One of the areas of improvement that I observed during my mentorship was that the location of the meeting rooms/coach’s offices/weight room and the practice field/locker rooms.  The weight room and coach’s offices are located on the Tiffin University campus and the practice field and locker rooms are located at the Paradiso Complex which is a few miles from campus.  One thing that I learned while I was working at Florida International University was that having all the facilities that the athletes use in the same building helped make a football program work well.  At FIU, the locker rooms, weight room, meeting rooms, and coach’s offices were at the football stadium where practice was held.  So, athletes could practice, lift, shower, and then come upstairs to meetings.  I think that the Tiffin football program could improve if all the facilities were located in the same place so athletes wouldn’t have to drive to a different location.



Leave a Reply.