Total Hours for Week 10:  7

Coach Ison and I went through the plan for the weight room workouts during the team camp.  Coach Ison wanted to give a weight room orientation for any of the new players and to let all the athletes know what he expected of them in the weight room.  He went over the information he wanted to provide to the athletes.  Coach Ison gave me the workouts he wanted to do during camp and had me type them up.  He reviewed the workout and gave me some corrections to make.  I made the corrections and printed the weight room workouts and made enough copies for all the athletes.

August 9th was the first day of the team camp.  Coach Ison gave the weight room orientation.  We gave out the workouts and went through the lifts and exercises to make sure that all the athletes knew how to do them correctly.  We helped spot the athletes during the workout and made sure their form was correct when they were doing the lifts.  After the workout, I cleaned the weight room and put any weights that were left out back on their racks.  During practice this week, I helped with the warm-ups, stretches, and cool-downs.

The experiences during my mentorship relate to my academic studies because I have been able to work on my communication and management skills that I learned in my classes.  I have learned new skills during my mentorship like instruction of exercises in the weight room and then instruct athletes to do those exercises properly.  The management and communication skills I learned during my courses have helped me manage the weight room activities and communicate more effectively to the athletes I have helped train.



Leave a Reply.